通过我们的会议和对话,兰州和阿尔伯克基的学生学到了很多关于我们的异同。我们学习了如何与在完全不同的文化中成长的人们进行交流,以及如何从不同的角度看待世界。下面列出了我们在项目中所讨论的对比的一些要点,这些对比既分开又联系在一起。

语言障碍

在阿尔伯克基方面,有两个学生会说较流利的中文,其中一个会听一些,另外三个则根本听不懂中文。这三位至少能听懂中文的学生之所以懂些中文,是因为他们在成长过程中将汉语作为他们家庭生活不可或缺的一部分。在兰州,所有学生都必须在学校学习英语,因此同学们的英语说和写都较流利。在美国,我们不必在学校学习中文。当试图解释和翻译台球或日本动漫等活动时,这两个团队都遇到了挑战,因为这些单词既不是在学校经常教授的,也不是经常在家庭中说的。但是当我们遇到这些问题时,双方以猜猜画画游戏的形式进行了合作,试图用我们已经知道的单词来解释,并用双手进行抽签来吸引活动,而另一方却猜到了我们要说的话(例如eggnog,一种蛋奶酒,很难描述)。尽管通过直接视屏是一种很不易的方式,但这一挑战教会了两个团队如何在文化和语言上存在差异时如何运作和进行交流以及如何提高英语和汉语的流利度。

红包文化与牙仙子

一方面,在美国,当孩子失去一颗牙齿时,他们在睡觉前将牙齿放在枕头下,父母在晚上潜入房间并压一些钱在枕头下。父母通常告诉他们的孩子,是牙仙子来拜访他们了。另一方面,在中国,跨年夜,父母会偷偷溜进孩子的房间,把红色的信封塞在枕头下,里面放着钱。作为回报,第二天,孩子们将不得不拜年(拜年–祝新年快乐)给父母。尽管在过去的几十年的变迁中,孩子们在向长者表示敬意后就可以获得红包,而不再是从枕头下取,但是这种新的传统使两支队伍都能看到两种文化之间的现代融合。

KFC

阿尔伯克基的学生惊讶地发现,早上,中国的肯德基会供应带有油条的热豆浆(油条–不含糖的棒状油炸甜圈)。中国肯德基还供应木耳(Mu er-树蘑菇),稀饭(Xi fan-稀饭),粥(Zhou-粥)以及更多其他适合市场需要的菜肴。

学校

专业化

兰州的队友早在他们的学校系统中就选择了职业道路,而到了高中,他们已经去了自己感兴趣的艺术专业学校。与我们合作的兰州学生选择了一条艺术与设计之路。除了在学校上课外,他们还与小组成员之一的父亲沉翔老师一起上额外的美术课。在他们的课堂上,学生们经常去风景秀丽的地方进行集体旅行,以素描自然和建筑物。与美国相比,大多数兰州学生在高中已经开始专注于职业生涯,而不是等到大学一年级或二年级。

校服

在阿尔伯克基学院,没有校服,只有着装要求。实际上,在美国,大多数学校都不执行校服。相比之下,中国大多数学校都要求穿校服,而大多数校服类似。这种通用制服也有三到四个版本,每个季节一套。

艺术学校

兰州团队学生的学习似乎更侧重于艺术学校介绍的个别艺术家及其各种风格。他们花了大量时间从事静物创作,并从中捕捉表情,而阿尔伯克基的学生要不断地完成美术老师布置的绘画作业,没有时间,尤其是专注于学习特定的艺术家和风格。绘画项目虽有总体主题,但是开放式的,给阿尔伯克基学生提供了充足的空间,可以将自己的思想和设计融入艺术品中。同时,兰州的学生们在工作室里花费了更多的时间,掌握了调色板和写实性等特定技能。完全不同又有效的艺术教学方法。

考试

兰州的学生描述了他们的考试日,从上午8点开始,到下午5点结束,中间提供午餐。中国的大多数学生都参加相同的国家考试。对于阿尔伯克基高中生来说,一天之内的最大测试量约为两次AP测试,测试时间均为三个小时,每个测试之间有一个小时的午餐时间。一天将在上午8点左右开始,最有可能在下午3点结束。尽管AP测试是国家测试,但您可以在许多不同的主题中进行测试,而不是涵盖所有主题的一项测试。尽管在美国有诸如ACT和SAT这样的测试。对于作为艺术专业学生的兰州队友来说,他们只需要完成数学和语文部分(删去化学和物理)即可参加国家考试(通常在高年级后的六月中的夏天)。但是,作为艺术系学生,他们必须在高三的12月将其作品提交给国家委员会审核。在美国,从高一到高三年级之间任何时间都可进行AP测试。 SAT和ACT通常是在美国学生高年级申请大学之前的几个月内取得的。中国的国家考试比AP和ACT或SAT考试的赌注更高,因为它只能参加一次,而且中国的大学非常依赖考试成绩。在美国,国家标准化考试对大学的重要性总体上在下降。许多大学甚至不再要求标准考试。

学校对待新冠病毒

根据兰州学生的说法,中国已经完全开放,新学年的所有课程都将正常进行。实际上,他们已于4月左右开始恢复正常。相反,美国的每个州都有不同的计划,但是在阿尔伯克基私立高中,面对面的课程已经推迟到了劳动节(九月初),之前所有内容都在网上。如果允许学生在劳动节之后返回,则该学年将分为三个学期,每个学期有两个课,每堂课约两个小时。

寒假

阿尔伯克基学生的2019-2020冬季假期大约为两周, 从12月21日开始到1月7日结束,包括圣诞节,光明节(犹太节)和新年。兰州学生的寒假应该从1月23日开始,持续到三到四周左右,一直持续到2月中旬,包括农历新年(春节)。

图片参考:

https://catic.org.au/kfc-became-a-chinese-restaurant-in-china/

blogs.ubc.ca/jennytao/2013/02/28/why-kfc-is-so-successful-in-china/

28 Comments

  1. Very well done you all! Despite long distance and language barrier and with very busy schedules and time differences, I can see you all have worked hard and it shows in all of the art pieces! Great job everyone!

  2. 每一幅画的构图都可以看出创作者的用心与丰富想像力,也可以看到不同国度的创作者的思维与视角!

  3. 东方人强调整体性和综合性,而西方人则重视个体性。整体思维和个体思维之
    间差异还表现在交往中,博主游乐园的这种交往足进了中西方思想的融合!

  4. 特别有创意、有意义、有爱的活动,不同文化的交流、沟通、融合,在孩子们心中播下爱的种子。孩子们,世界是你们的,未来是你们的,有你们,世界一定充满希望,更加美好!加油!孩子们!

  5. 非常有意义的活动!它提供了在完全不同的文化中成长起来的人们进行交流,以及如何从不同的角度看待世界的平台,有利增进中美人民的了解和友谊。

  6. 这个项目从构思创意到具体落实完成,整个过程可以看出尤乐元小朋友具有一定的组织能力和领导能力,文字部分的阐述也详实具体,反映了其科研能力,祝愿她项目顺利推进!

  7. 文化交流和包容非常重要且有意义,多元一体的地球村,更应该强调人文的无边际发展。

  8. 我觉得中西文化跨界交流的亮点在于这是一次双方用心去感受的沟通之旅,国之交于民相亲,增进对意识形态不同的尊重,消减隔阂,古老中国的智慧与美国独立精神的碰撞,很有意思。

  9. 太棒了,很高兴能看到中美文化在和谐的氛围中交流,我们需要这样的合作,祝大家合作愉快!

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。

Through our meetings and conversations together, the Albuquerque and Lanzhou students learned a great deal about our similarities and contrasts. We learned how to communicate with people who are growing up in a completely different culture and how to see the world from a different perspective. Below are listed some highlights of the contrasts we talked about during the project that separate and yet also tie us together.

Language Barriers

On the Albuquerque side, there were two students who could speak and write Chinese slightly fluently, one that could listen fluently, and three that could not understand Chinese at all. The three students who could understand at least a little Chinese knew some of the language because they were raised with Chinese being a more or less integral part of their family life. On the Lanzhou side, all the students had to learn English in school and therefore all spoke and wrote English slightly fluently. In the United States, we do not have to learn the same foreign language in school. Both teams came up against challenges when trying to explain and translate activities such as billiards or Japanese anime because those words are neither taught in school often nor spoken in the household regularly. But when we met up against these problems, both sides teamed up in a Pictionary game fashion and tried to explain using words we already knew and using our hands to air draw the activity while the other side guessed at what we were trying to say (eggnog was especially hard to describe). Though quite a grueling way to have a conversation over the Internet, this challenge taught both teams how to function and communicate when there are differences in culture and language as well as improve English and Chinese fluency.

Red Envelope Culture vs the Tooth Fairy

On one hand, in the United States, when a child loses a tooth, they put their tooth under a pillow before they go to bed and their parents sneak into their rooms at night to leave some amount of money. Parents usually tell their children that the Tooth Fairy had come to visit them afterwards. On the other hand, in China, on New Year’s Eve, parents would sneak into their children’s rooms and slide the red envelopes with money in them under their pillows. In return, the next day, the children would have to 拜年 (Bai nian – pay Happy New Year respects) to their parents. Although, in decades past, children would get the money after paying respects to their elders on New Year’s Day instead of under a pillow, this new tradition allowed both teams to see an incredible example of modern-day syncretism between two cultures.

KFC

The Albuquerque students were super surprised to learn that in the morning, the KFCs in China serve hot soy milk with 油条 (You tiao – fried donut-like sticks without sugar). And not only that, the Chinese KFCs also serve 木耳 (Mu er – black mushrooms), 稀饭 (Xi fan – rice porridge), 粥 (Zhou – congee), and many more dishes specialized for their market.

School

Specialization

The Lanzhou students and students across China select a career path early on in their school system and by high school, they are already going to a school that specializes in their field of interest. The Lanzhou students that we worked with had chosen a path of art and design. On top of classes at school, they also take extra art classes with one of the group members’ father, 沈翔老师 (Shen xiang lao shi). In their class, the students often take group trips to scenic places for inspiration and to sketch nature and buildings. In contrast to those in America, most of the Lanzhou students have already started specializing in their career in high school rather than the first or second year in college.

School Uniforms

At Albuquerque Academy, there are no school uniforms, just a dress code. In fact, most schools in the United States do not enforce a school uniform. In comparison, most schools require uniforms and most of the uniforms are the same across all the schools in China. There are three to four versions of this common uniform as well, one for each season.

Art School

The Lanzhou students’ studies seemed more focused on individual artists and their various styles in art school. They spent a lot of time working on still life and capturing expression whereas the Albuquerque students found that their art teachers gave out assignments one after another with less time particularly focused on learning about particular artists and styles. Projects were given with an overarching theme or open ended goal that gave the Albuquerque students plenty of room to add in their own thoughts and designs into the art piece. Meanwhile, the Lanzhou students spent more time in the studio mastering certain skills such as color palette and realism. Both completely different and valid approaches to teaching art.

School Testing and National Tests

The Lanzhou students described their testing days to start at 8am in the morning and end at 5pm in the evening with lunch served in between. Most students in China all take the same national test. The maximum amount of testing within a day for Albuquerque high school students was approximately two AP tests that are three hours long each with an hour in between for lunch. The day would start around 8am and most likely end by 3pm. And though AP tests are national tests, you can test in many different subjects instead of one test that encompasses all subjects. Though there are tests like that such as the ACT and SAT in the United States. For the Lanzhou students, as art-specialized students, they only have to complete the math and language sections (cutting out chemistry and physics) for their national test (usually taken in June the summer after their senior year). However, as art students, they have to submit their artworks to a national board for review in December of their senior year. In the United States, AP tests are taken anywhere from the end of sophomore year all the way to the end of senior year. The SAT and ACT are usually taken in the months leading up to college applications in the USA students’ senior years. The national tests in China have higher stakes than AP and ACT or SAT tests because it can only be taken once and Chinese colleges rely very heavily on the test scores. In the United States, the national standardized tests are overall decreasing in the level of importance to colleges. Many universities have even gone test-optional.

School with COVID-19

On the accounts of the Lanzhou students, China has opened up completely and all classes will be normal for this coming school year. In fact, they had started going back to normal in around April. Contrarily, each state in the US has different plans, but at Albuquerque Academy, in-person classes have been delayed until Labor’s Day and everything is online until then. If students are allowed to return after Labor’s Day, the school year will be divided into trimesters with two classes per trimester for about two hours long each.

Winter Break

The Albuquerque students’ 2019-2020 winter breaks were about two weeks long, starting on December 21st and ending on January 7th, encompassing Christmas, Hanukkah, and New Year’s. The Lanzhou students’ winter breaks were supposed to be around three to four weeks long, starting on January 23rd and running until mid-February, encompassing Chinese New Year and the Spring Festival.

Image References:

https://catic.org.au/kfc-became-a-chinese-restaurant-in-china/

blogs.ubc.ca/jennytao/2013/02/28/why-kfc-is-so-successful-in-china/

27 Comments

  1. Very well done you all! Despite long distance and language barrier and with very busy schedules and time differences, I can see you all have worked hard and it shows in all of the art pieces! Great job everyone!

  2. 每一幅画的构图都可以看出创作者的用心与丰富想像力,也可以看到不同国度的创作者的思维与视角!

  3. 东方人强调整体性和综合性,而西方人则重视个体性。整体思维和个体思维之
    间差异还表现在交往中,博主游乐园的这种交往足进了中西方思想的融合!

  4. 特别有创意、有意义、有爱的活动,不同文化的交流、沟通、融合,在孩子们心中播下爱的种子。孩子们,世界是你们的,未来是你们的,有你们,世界一定充满希望,更加美好!加油!孩子们!

  5. 非常有意义的活动!它提供了在完全不同的文化中成长起来的人们进行交流,以及如何从不同的角度看待世界的平台,有利增进中美人民的了解和友谊。

  6. 这个项目从构思创意到具体落实完成,整个过程可以看出尤乐元小朋友具有一定的组织能力和领导能力,文字部分的阐述也详实具体,反映了其科研能力,祝愿她项目顺利推进!

  7. 我觉得中西文化跨界交流的亮点在于这是一次双方用心去感受的沟通之旅,国之交于民相亲,增进对意识形态不同的尊重,消减隔阂,古老中国的智慧与美国独立精神的碰撞,很有意思。

  8. 太棒了,很高兴能看到中美文化在和谐的氛围中交流,我们需要这样的合作,祝大家合作愉快!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *